ADA MED SUPPLY LIMITED
Phone:+86 13383897707 Tel:+86-0379-65160607 Email:adaanatomy@adaanatomy.com
NEWS
    HOME > NEWS > BIX-Y1011 26cm Acupuncture Model: What It Teaches

NEWS

NEWS

BIX-Y1011 26cm Acupuncture Model: What It Teaches

BIX-Y1011 26cm Acupuncture Model: What It Can and Cannot Teach

Short answer: BIX-Y1011 is a 26 cm PVC acupuncture model marked with 361 meridian points and 48 extra points. The left side is labelled in English and the right side in Chinese, and the model sits on a display base. At its published reference price of US $8.84, it is a desk-level point-location aid for beginners — not a full-size clinical training manikin.

Key takeaways

  • It is a point-location model, not a needling simulator. The page describes printed points and labels, not needle depth or tissue feedback.
  • 361 meridian points plus 48 extra points are marked, which covers the standard meridian set and common extra points.
  • Bilingual by design: English codes such as HN3 and ST17 on the left, Chinese on the right.
  • 26 cm is small. It fits on a desk and in a student bag, but it is not life-size and cannot teach body-surface measurement at true scale.
  • The reference price is US $8.84, subject to order quantity; the page does not publish carton data.

Published specification

ItemDetail
ModelBIX-Y1011
TypeBody acupuncture model
Height26 cm
MaterialPVC, placed inside a base
Points marked361 meridian points and 48 extra points
LabellingEnglish on the left (e.g., HN3, ST17); Chinese on the right
Reference priceUS $8.84, subject to order quantity
Package size / weightNot published on the product page

What the 26 cm format is good for

Teaching taskHow the model supports it
First-pass point recognitionStudents see the meridian lines and the point codes together, so the name and the location are learned as one unit.
Bilingual terminologyEnglish codes on one side and Chinese on the other let a class compare the two naming systems without a second model.
Home study and revisionThe 26 cm size is portable; a student can revise point locations away from the lab.
Classroom demonstrationThe base holds the model upright for a table-top demonstration.
Point-count checks361 meridian points plus 48 extra points give a fixed reference set for quizzes.

What it cannot do

The model cannot teach needle insertion. It has no simulated tissue layers, no depth feedback and no response to needling. It also cannot teach true-scale surface measurement: at 26 cm, the distance between two points is scaled down, so a measurement learned on the model does not transfer one-to-one to a patient. Finally, the page does not state whether the printed points are individually numbered or only coded by meridian; that matters if your assessment asks students to name points in sequence.

These are not defects. They are the boundaries of a low-cost point-location aid. The mistake is to buy one model and expect it to replace a needling trainer, a full-size manikin and supervised practice.

How to use it in a beginner course

  1. Start with the meridian, not the point. Ask students to trace one meridian from end to end before they name a single point.
  2. Say the code and the location together. “ST17, below the pupil, in the depression” is more useful than a code alone.
  3. Use the bilingual sides deliberately. Cover one side and ask for the other language; this tests recall rather than recognition.
  4. Move to a full-size model before measurement. Use the 26 cm model for recognition, then a life-size model for proportional distance.
  5. Assess by pointing, not by reciting. The model is a spatial aid; the assessment should be spatial too.

What the acupuncture education literature says

Acupuncture education has been moving toward competency-based structures, and a 2025 review describes the shift in how acupuncture is taught and assessed [1]. A competency-based programme in Korean Medicine education reports the design and implementation of a structured training pathway [2]. A 2026 commentary argues that anatomy-based mapping of acupoints still faces conceptual challenges — exactly the gap a physical model is meant to narrow, but cannot close on its own [3].

In practice, the model works best as one layer in a sequence: lecture, physical model, needling trainer, supervised clinical practice. It is inexpensive enough to give every student a reference object, which is a different value proposition from a high-fidelity simulator.

What to confirm before ordering

Not publishedWhy it matters
Carton size, quantity per carton and gross weightNeeded for freight and for a class-set order.
Whether points are individually numberedAffects quiz design and self-study.
Whether a printed point index or manual is includedThe page mentions an English user manual but does not describe its contents.
Price at your quantityUS $8.84 is a reference price, not a binding quote.

Send those four questions to adaanatomy@adaanatomy.com with the model number BIX-Y1011 and your student count. We will confirm each point and attach the carton data.

FAQ

Q1. How many points are marked on BIX-Y1011?
The page states 361 meridian points and 48 extra points.

Q2. Is the model life-size?
No. It is 26 cm tall. It is a desktop teaching model, not a life-size manikin.

Q3. What material is it made from?
PVC, placed inside a base.

Q4. Are the labels in English or Chinese?
Both. The left side is labelled in English (for example HN3 and ST17) and the right side in Chinese.

Q5. Can I practise needling on it?
No. The page describes a printed point model; it does not state needling depth, tissue layers or feedback.

Q6. What is the price?
The published reference price is US $8.84, subject to order quantity. Email adaanatomy@adaanatomy.com for a quotation at your volume and for the carton data.

Request a class-set quotation

Write to adaanatomy@adaanatomy.com with the model (BIX-Y1011), the number of students and the city of delivery. If you also need a life-size model for proportional measurement, say so in the same message so the two sizes ship together and the labelling conventions match.

References

  1. Developments in Acupuncture Education. Medical Acupuncture. 2025.
  2. Implementing a competency-based acupuncture training program in Korean Medicine education. PLOS ONE. 2026.
  3. Beyond points: conceptual challenges in anatomy-based mapping of acupoints. Integrative Medicine Research. 2026.